APCRG announces launch of 2017 Responsible Business Champions scheme

Time 1 Feb 2017 09:30-11:00
Venue Attlee Suite, Portcullis House

Speaking at a Group meeting on 1 February, APCRG Co-Chair, Jonathan Djanogly MP, announced that the Group would be launching its Responsible Business Champions scheme 2017, kindly supported again this year by National Grid, on Thursday 2 February. The APCRG Co-Chairs, Jonathan Djanogly MP and Baroness (Sally) Greengross are writing to all MPs to encourage them to nominate a company as their Constituency Responsible Business Champion based on the positive impact it has in their constituency. Jonathan encouraged Associate members of the Group to seek the nomination of their local MP and said the Parliamentary judging panel would welcome joint nominations from MPs for the same company where the company’s impact is felt across a number of neighbouring constituencies. Jonathan said the criteria to be used for selecting the National Responsible Business Champion had been tweaked this year, mindful of the Government’s commitment to reducing the disability employment gap, to emphasise the importance the Group attaches to supporting diversity and inclusion. So, when the Parliamentary judging panel selects the National Champion, they will be looking for companies that are:

  • supporting the local community;

  • investing in healthy workplaces;

  • offering apprenticeships and training to all;

  • promoting diversity & inclusion in the workplace, including 

  • offering people with disabilities work opportunities; 

  • monitoring suppliers’ actions on these issues.

The closing date for MPs’ nominations is 5 October 2017


Meeting documents

APCRG Responsible Business Champions scheme - 2017 Nomination Form (June 2017) (48k)